Led by Australia’s national science agency, the CSIRO, ASTRI draws together leading solar thermal researchers from six Australian universities, plus collaborators from the United States.

The ASTRI Australian partners are:


The Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, is Australia’s national science agency and one of the largest and most diverse research agencies in the world. It has established world-leading expertise in the concentrating solar thermal research and is focused on the deployment of large-scale projects, conducted in partnership with industry and government both in Australia and internationally. View Site >

Australian National University

The Australian National University (ANU) is a celebrated place of intensive research, education and policy engagement. ANU is home to an interconnected community of scholars. ANU conducts research and development activities that contribute to progress on conversion of solar energy using flat-plate, non-concentrating systems as well as mirrored, concentrating systems. ANU’s activities are accordingly roughly split into low-temperature and high-temperature areas. View Site >

University of Queensland

The University of Queensland is one of Australia’s Group of Eight, a founding member of Universitas 21 and one of the top 100 universities in the world according to all major rankings. The University has a long-standing research program in the area of thermal power generation using renewable sources and is contributing to ASTRI in the area of next-generation turbine and power block development and solar mirror cleaning. View Site >

Queensland University of Technology

Queensland University of Technology (QUT) is a highly successful Australian university with an applied emphasis in courses and research. Based in Brisbane, the university has a global outlook, some 42,000 students, including 6000 from overseas, and an annual budget of more than AU$750 million. QUT is the top-ranked Australian university for power engineering by research income from the Australian Research Council (ARC), and is a leading institution in the field of energy research including 3rd generation photovoltaic devices, fuel cells, distribution systems and efficiency. View Site >

The University of Adelaide

The University of Adelaide is consistently ranked in the top 1% of universities worldwide with an international reputation for conducting world-leading research and a history of research in thermal energy dating back to Sir Horrace Lamb’s Treatise on the Motion of Fluids (1879).  Its main contributions to ASTRI are in the development of low cost solar fuels, heliostat aerodynamics and receiver development. View Site >

University of South Australia

UniSA is a globally-focused, locally-engaged institution established on the dual principles of equity and excellence. With more than 33,000 students, the university is South Australia’s largest and was the youngest Australian institution to be named in the top 50 of 2013 The Times Higher Education’s Top 100 global universities aged under 50. UniSA’s capabilities include development and testing of new thermal energy storage materials and computer modelling and design of thermal energy storage systems. View Site >

Flinders University

Flinders University enjoys a well-justified reputation for its excellence in teaching and research. It has a long-standing commitment to enhancing educational opportunities for all and a proud record of community engagement. Flinders University will provide expertise through the Centre for NanoScale Science and Technology. View Site >

The ASTRI US collaborators are:

Arizona State University

Arizona State University has developed a new model for the American Research University, creating an institution that is committed to excellence, access and impact. ASU measures itself by those it includes, not by those it excludes. ASU pursues research that contributes to the public good, and ASU assumes major responsibility for the economic, social and cultural vitality of the communities that surround it. View Site >

National Renewable Energy Laboratory

The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) is the U.S. Department of Energy’s primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. View Site >

Sandia National Laboratories

For more than 60 years, Sandia has delivered essential science and technology to resolve the USA’s most challenging security issues. Sandia National Laboratories is operated and managed by Sandia Corporation, a wholly owned subsidiary of Lockheed Martin Corporation. Sandia Corporation operates Sandia National Laboratories as a contractor for the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) and supports numerous federal, state, and local government agencies, companies, and organizations. View Site >